Be Happy : Physio at TRC

21 Jan

So, after a week off from training, I went to see the physio yesterday at TRC – Andrew Lawson.

After some interesting tests for muscle triggering, he came to the conclusion that my injury was a groin strain.

It seems I have a weak posterior chain, and therefore when rowing – in particular using the beloved RowPerfect – I have the tendency to use my adductors – the muscles on the inner thigh – to keep my legs straight and stop them wobbling about. In turn, this means that I am using my adductors much more than my quadriceps, and as time has gone on, they’ve got tighter and tighter until last weekend when they almost seized up!

He’s given me some exercise to work on – mainly to strengthen the glutes – I thought they were already pretty strong! The main one he’s suggested is the bridge exercise from yoga. This should activate the glutes and get them working again, along with the usual squats, lunges and one-legged squats!

So this week’s focus : gluteus maximus, medius and minimus.

Leave a Reply

Andy Tuohy - Blog

Artist, Designer & Illustrator.

Affirmation Kitchen

Thought For Food

Gluten Free By The Sea

A coeliac's guide to gluten free life in Plymouth

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

TwoWheelin

Motorcycle Adventures

women.cyclists

Women rock N'... Women cyclists roll.

