Be Happy : Testing out the MapMyRide app

25 Jan

I rode with MapMyRide! Distance: 5.77mi, time: 36:56, pace: 6:24min/mi, speed: 9.37mi/h. http://mapmyride.com/view_route?r=167135914152478678 So, on the ride from work to our crew dinner at Charlotte L’s house I decided to test out a fitness app. I normally use Google’s own MyTracks for recording my rides and runs, and I’ve got quite attached to the features! But, with it being a map-based app, the look of the app isn’t so pretty, and I wanted to see if other dedicated sports apps have extra features. For this ride I used MapMyRide. The app itself looks quite nice – it’s much more designed than Google’s. The main menu has perhaps too many options for my liking though – I like the idea of being able to compare your routes with others, and log your food diary all in one app, but I don’t think it’s as advanced as MyFitnessPal, and so if I was keeping a food diary I would still use MFP instead. Recording your route is straightforward – like MyTracks, you hit the start button and off you go! Once you finish, press the pause/stop button and it saves it for you. One warning though – if you sign up with facebook, it updates your profile each time you use it! I need to find the option to turn this off! I’m not sure how long my friends will last till their bored of seeing all my outings! I don’t want to say much more about it just yet, as I’ve only used it for two short rides this evening. I’ll give it another couple of outings to test all the features before giving it a rating! Changing topic, crew dinner was really lovely. Charlotte, the stroke of the boat I was due to be racing in held the crew dinner at her house, and we all (minus 1 who couldn’t make it) met up to catch up, and prep for the race. A carb-loading dinner … although being weight-conscious ladies it was complex carbs and salad, but it was a really lovely evening. A bit of the usual gossip and swapping of tales from the river over dinner, and then down to the serious stuff over desert! Heather, the cox went through the plan for the race, and noted down recommendations from the crew as to ways to keep the girls motivated throughout the marshalling, and more importantly of course the race! I’m gutted I won’t be racing, but equally really excited for them all tomorrow, and it was great to join in the evening despite being on the bench, so to speak! I’ll be down on one of the bridges tomorrow to cheer them on and take photos. Might see if I can fit in a gym session and perhaps cycle down to the race to test out my app a little more. Fingers crossed I’ll also have my extra phone batteries and my mount for my bike handlebars so that I can see my phone as I cycle – then I can really test it all out!

3 Responses to “Be Happy : Testing out the MapMyRide app”

  1. Jesse McKay January 26, 2013 at 5:32 am #

    Tried to check out the map…. its set to private.

    • charlotte edwards January 27, 2013 at 2:33 am #

      Sorry, I’m still new to all these sites! I’m hoping it should work now 🙂

      • Jesse McKay January 27, 2013 at 3:04 am #

        Yep 🙂 it works now! You should also set the link in your blog post to open in a new window so users arent directed away from your blog.

Leave a Reply

Andy Tuohy - Blog

Artist, Designer & Illustrator.

Affirmation Kitchen

Thought For Food

Gluten Free By The Sea

A coeliac's guide to gluten free life in Plymouth

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

TwoWheelin

Motorcycle Adventures

women.cyclists

Women rock N'... Women cyclists roll.

