Be Happy : Go go gadget Edwards!

8 Feb

So, I’ve been on the antibiotics for 5 days now, and the cough is almost clear.

Now I know it goes against most recommendations, but 2 weeks of injury and 2 weeks of infection is taking its toll.

Last week I had a delivery from eBay that got me rather excited!
I purchased myself a Polar Bluetooth Wearlink+.
Now for the average Joe, that’s a heart rate monitor, but the cool bit about it is that it is Bluetooth – therefore can connect to my phone and track my heart rate as I work out. Not only thay, but with the right apps, it can be plotted against time, distance and elevation for a full and thorough workout analysis.

I received it at work, and being too impatient to wait until I got home, disappeared off to the toilets to hook myself up to test it out!

Id purchased it second hand, therefore it came without the box, but it did have the manual with it. I’d rather use the word manual loosely though! There’s very little in it – its’ weight is made up with the various language versions for ‘attach, turn on, and go’!

It took a little while to suss it out, for several reasons.
Unlike my Bluetooth headphones – which, fyi I swear by for running and working out! – when the hrm is connected to the phone it doesn’t appear as being ‘connected’ with the Bluetooth. I managed to pair it up, but was expecting to see the usual connection symbol but this didn’t happen. I also then needed to find an app that would recognise it.

I downloaded various apps, and a few spotted the Polar iWL, however couldn’t connect.

I finally came across an app called Sports Tracker, and once I got outside and with some GPS signal, managed to connect to the monitor and went for a walk.

I only managed to get it fully working in the last five minutes as I got back to the office, so continued to test it from the desk!
I checked my pulse the manual way to compare for reliability, and the readout seemed pretty

Leave a Reply

Andy Tuohy - Blog

Artist, Designer & Illustrator.

Affirmation Kitchen

Thought For Food

Gluten Free By The Sea

A coeliac's guide to gluten free life in Plymouth

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

TwoWheelin

Motorcycle Adventures

women.cyclists

Women rock N'... Women cyclists roll.

