Train Hard : Testing Time!

20 Feb

So, tonight’s the night!

The final 5km RowPerfect testing this evening for the girls of the novice squad.

I’ve eaten so much today in prep for it!

Porridge for breakfast, some popchips as a mid-morning snack, chicken jambalaya for lunch, persian turkey for mid afternoon, followed by a banana. And several cups of coffee to keep me awake and kicking!

The last testing I did was the 5th of January, and my split was 2m.00s.03ms, giving me 20m.03s.05ms for the 5km test.

 

My aim is to break a 2 minute split – something that 5 months ago I would never have believed possible!

I remember sitting on one of the ergs in my gym a couple of days after my intro session to TRC, trying to pull an 8m.50s 2km, and getting 8m.48s – but that was hard! So to pull a 5km with a split of less than 2 minutes, I’m pulling almost a minute faster over 2km!

I may be at least 6 inches shorter than most of the big-pullers in our squad, but what I lack in height I aim to try and make up for in fitness and sheer determination!

 

I’ll be back later to let you know how I get on!

Leave a Reply

Andy Tuohy - Blog

Artist, Designer & Illustrator.

Affirmation Kitchen

Thought For Food

Gluten Free By The Sea

A coeliac's guide to gluten free life in Plymouth

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

TwoWheelin

Motorcycle Adventures

women.cyclists

Women rock N'... Women cyclists roll.

