Train Hard : 2km Testing!

15 Apr

So it’s been a quiet couple of weeks – I’ve finally shifted the cough, and I’m back on it.

I’ve been working on the weights, but not been doing so much on the ergs due to work commitments, so I knew tonight would be a good test run. I’ve missed a fair few of the lactic tolerance sessions, so going into the test I was feeling pretty nervous! Plus, all of the indoor work I’ve done in the last 3 months have been on the RowPerfects – which makes getting the rate up much easier than on the ergs as you have the weight of the machine to push off from.

We warmed up with a few 200m bursts over 10 minutes to find our limits, and then straight into it after a couple of minutes break.

And to cut a painful 7.55 short, I finished it!

Time : 7.55.6
Average Split : 1.58.6
Average Stroke Rate : 31
Weight Pre-testing : 57.2kg

Split breakdown :
0-500m : 1.50.7
500-1000m : 2.01.6
1000-1500m : 2.01.9
1500-2000m : 2.01.4

So, a good benchmark to work from, and I certainly learnt a lesson from it!

The aim of a 2km is to go off quick, find a good pace and settle for the middle 1km, then bring it back up to the same speed as the first 500m for the last split.

In my case, I hit it far too hard in the first 500m – I think as low as 1.42 – and so couldn’t pick it back up at the finish.
Although I did well to keep consistent and not let it drop any further!

Given the level of fitness I thought I had before I went into it, and not knowing what to expect, I’m not at all disappointed with my time, and more importantly I’m looking forward to smashing it in the next test!

Leave a Reply

Andy Tuohy - Blog

Artist, Designer & Illustrator.

Affirmation Kitchen

Thought For Food

Gluten Free By The Sea

A coeliac's guide to gluten free life in Plymouth

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

TwoWheelin

Motorcycle Adventures

women.cyclists

Women rock N'... Women cyclists roll.

