Train Hard : 2km Testing – Round 2

13 May

It’s been a couple of weeks since the last test, and we’ve had races and camp in between, but here it is – my results from tonight’s 2km.

Time : 8.00.1
Average Split : 2.00.0
Average Stroke Rate : 28
Weight Pre-testing : 56.1kg

Split breakdown :
0-500m : 1.55.4
500-1000m : 2.00.4
1000-1500m : 2.03.0
1500-2000m : 2.01.3

 

Building on the last 2km, I had a plan and I tried to stick to it, but I found myself stupidly pushing at the wrong times.

I went off hard and quick in the first 100m, to get myself a good head start and got my split down to 1.50.0, however as I then eased out to get a consistent pace I aimed for my previous split of 1.58.0 and failed to stick at it and couldn’t keep my rate high enough. I just didn’t have the energy in my legs or glutes to push harder, and my arms wouldn’t move any quicker.

I’ve lost a kilo since the last test, I hadn’t eaten much today and last week I had come down with the start of a virus – I’m hoping this may be the reason I just couldn’t find the energy to push for more.

As I finished the test my cough kicked off again, and I could feel a lot of gunk loosened off in my chest.

I’m a little annoyed with myself – I’m not going to lie! I’m far to competitive not to be! But having said that, it’s not an awful time in the grand scheme of things, it would have just been nice to get it a little lower – it’s only a difference of 4.4 seconds on my last test, and I have missed the last few erg sessions as I keep running myself in to the ground! I’m still trying to master the art of balancing all angles of life!

Annoyingly though, heart-rate-wise I recovered quickly, and more importantly it didn’t just give up mid-erg!

Sports Tracker Workout Results for 2km testing

Leave a Reply

Andy Tuohy - Blog

Artist, Designer & Illustrator.

Affirmation Kitchen

Thought For Food

Gluten Free By The Sea

A coeliac's guide to gluten free life in Plymouth

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

TwoWheelin

Motorcycle Adventures

women.cyclists

Women rock N'... Women cyclists roll.

